Aregbesola Celebrates As Adeleke Wins Osun Guber Poll - THE DAILY CRUCIBLE



Sunday, July 17, 2022

Aregbesola Celebrates As Adeleke Wins Osun Guber Poll

               •Senator Adeleke

| The Daily Crucible | Sunday, July 17, 2022

Former governor Rauf Aregbesola has celebrated the defeat of his predecessor, governor Adegbeyega Oyetola, by his main challenger in the Saturday governorship election, Senator Ademola Adekeke of the People's Democratic Party (PDP).

Aregbesola who is the Interior Minister fell out with his Oyetola following crisis that arose over who should be the leader of APC in Osun and  leading to balkanization of the party into two or more camps with the minister reportedly going spiritual that God should humble and dethrone his perceived political adversaries in the state.

Few minutes after the party lost the state to the opposition PDP, Aregbesola took to the social media to celebrate and gloat over the defeat, saying it was God at work, citing the Bible book of Daniel to support his position.

But Ogbeni Aregbesola's Media Adviser,
Sola Fasure, had quickly advised that the message should be ignored as it was not authorized on the minister's social media pages.

Fasure stated, "It has come to the attention of the media office of the Minister of Interior, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, that an unauthorized message was posted on his Verified Twitter and Facebook Pages at about 8:00am on Sunday 17th July, 2022.

"The unauthorized messages have now been deleted. Members of the public, especially the media, are advised to ignore!"

Meanwhile, the Independent National Electoral Commission has declared the candidate of the PDP, Senator Ademola Adeleke, winner of the Osun governorship election.

The Returning Officer for the election and Vice Chancellor of the University of Lagos, Prof. Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, declared that Adeleke scored a total of 403,371 votes to trounce the incumbent, Adegboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress, APC, who garnered 375,027 votes in a keenly contested race.

“I declare Adeleke Ademola Jackson Nurudeen, on behalf of the chairman of INEC, of the PDP, having satisfied the requirement of the law, is hereby declared the winner and he is returned elected," Ogundipe said.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) records showed that the PDP won 17 of the 30 Local Government Areas of the state, while the APC won the remaining 13.

The PDP won in Ede North, Ede South, Ifelodun, Boluwaduro, Egbedore, Odo Otin, Osogbo, Ila, Atakumosa West, Olorunda, Ilesa West, Obokun, Oriade, Orolu, Ife North, Irepodun, and Ejigbo LGAs.

The APC, on the other hand, won in Boripe, Ilesa East, Ayedire, Ifedayo, Ife Central, Ayedaade, Iwo, Olaoluwa, Isokan, Atakumosa East, Irewole, Ife South, and Ife East LGAs.

No comments:

Post a Comment