Tinubu Wins APC Presidential Ticket, Floors Osinbajo, Amaechi, Others - THE DAILY CRUCIBLE



Wednesday, June 8, 2022

Tinubu Wins APC Presidential Ticket, Floors Osinbajo, Amaechi, Others

••• Gbenga Daniel Hails Tinubu's Victory, Says He's A Dogged Fighter

The Daily Crucible | Wednesday, June 8, 2022

 National leader of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju  Bola Tinubu has won the presidential primary of the party for the 2023 general elections.

Tinubu won the presidential ticket with  
1271 votes to defeat his main opponents -former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi and Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, who polled 316 and 235 votes respectively.

The ex - governor of Lagos State will slug it out in the main election next year with former Vice President Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), a veteran of presidential race; Peter Obi, Labour Party’s candidate and Rabiu Kwankwaso, the candidates of the New Nigeria Peoples Party(NNPP) among others.

Atiku Bagudu, the Chairman of the Election Committee of the Convention and the Chairman of the Progressives Governors Forum (PGF) announced the result and declared Tinubu the winner.

Bagudu also congratulated him for emerging the winner.

“This is to certify that Asiwaju having secured the highest votes is hereby declared the winner. I hereby declare him as the winner and he is the presidential candidate of the All-Progressives Congress (APC) for the 2023 Presidential Election,” he declared.

Senate President, Ahmed Lawan came fourth with 152 votes, Kogi State Governor Yahaya Bello scored 47 votes while the
duo of Cross Rivers Governor, Ben Ayade; and Ebonyi State Governor Dave Umahi scored 37 and 38 votes respectively.

Also, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Rochas Okorocha and Ikeobasi Mokelu garnered zero votes. 13 votes were deemed void.

A total of 23 presidential aspirants participated. A total of 9 aspirants stepped down before the commencement of the voting. The Nine including Mrs Uju Kennedy-Ohnenye, Dr Felix Nicholas, former Gov. Godswill Akpabio, former Governor Ibikunle Amosun, and former Speaker Dimeji Bankole, Sen. Ajayi Boroffice, Governor Muhammad Badaru, Sen. Ken Nnamani and Governor Kayode Fayemi.

However, 14 aspirants followed through with the race and they are Mr Chukwuemeka Nwajuba, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Mr Ahmed Rufai, Senator Rochas Okorocha, Mr Jack Rich, Governor Ben Ayade, Gov. David Umuahi, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, Senator Ahmed Yarima, Dr Ahmed Lawal, Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, Mr Rotimi Amaechi, Governor Yahaya Bello and Mr Ogbonnaya Onu.

I Hold No Grudges Against Opponents During Primary - Tinubu

In his address, Tinubu said he holds no grudges against his opponents over the primary, especially those who declined to step down for him.

Tinubu spoke while giving his victory speech at the Eagle Square, venue of the APC primary.

He mentioned and praised the aspirants who stepped down for him and assured that “Those who didn’t support me have nothing to fear. I hold no grudges. Let us all work together.”

Tinubu is a Dogged Fighter
   - OGD 
  …Congratulates APC Flagbearer

Meanwhile, former Governor of Ogun State and Senatorial Candidate of the All Progressive Congress in the Ogun East Senatorial District, Otunba Gbenga Daniel has described the APC flagbearer, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu as a dogged fighter who knows his onions and will go to lengths to achieving his strategic objectives.

In his congratulatory message to the APC flagbearer, Otunba Daniel said, “the Bola Tinubu that I know is a strategic thinker, a great planner and a well organized personality, which are the attributes that have worked for him not only in politics but also in his business and social relationships. 

“In the last two decades Bola Tinubu’s political trajectory has shown that the the sky may be the starting point for him, and this he has clearly demonstrated with the energy he puts behind his campaign and the eventual victory as the Presidential candidate of the All Progressive Congress which has proven Bookmakers wrong in all ramifications.”

Otunba Daniel wishes Asiwaju Tinubu well as he proceed further in his campaign for the mandate of all Nigerians.

No comments:

Post a Comment