INEC Declares Oyebanji Winner Of Ekiti Governorship Election - THE DAILY CRUCIBLE



Saturday, June 18, 2022

INEC Declares Oyebanji Winner Of Ekiti Governorship Election


The Daily Crucible | Sunday, June 19, 2022

The candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Mr Biodun Oyebanji, has been announced winner of the Ekiti State governorship election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The Daily Crucible reports that the immediate past Secretary to the Ekiti State Government, Oyebanji of the APC, former state  chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Bisi Kolawole, and ex - governor Segun Oni of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) were the dominant parties and candidates in Saturday's governorship race in Ekiti State.

Although the Labour Party (LP), New Nigeria Peoples Party(NNPP) and few other political parties - African Democratic Congress (ADC), Accord Party, Action Democratic Party (ADP) and the Young Progressives Party (YPP)
had their candidates as contestants too in the race to succeed incumbent governor Kayode Fayemi but it was generally agreed that the trifecta of Oyebanji(APC), Kolawole(PDP) and Oni(SDP) were the major contenders.

Announcing the final results, the Returning Officer who is the Vice Chancellor, University of Ibadan (UI), Prof Kayode Oyebode Adebowale, after the collation of the results of the supplementary election in seven polling units, declared Oyebanji winner of the election 

Oyebanji polled a total of 187,057 votes to emerge the winner while the standard bearer of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Engr Segun Oni scored a total of 82, 211 votes to come second in the contest.
The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Otunba Bisi Kolawole came distant third with a total votes of 67,457.

Prof Adebowale said Oyebanji having scored the highest number of votes was declared the winner and returned elected as the Governor-elect of Ekiti State.

A break down of the election outcome shows that the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) won in 15 Local Government Areas (LGAs) of Ekiti State. There are 16 local governments in Ekiti State.

According to results announced at the LGA collation centres, Abiodun Oyebanji of the APC won in Ikere, Emure, Ekiti South West, Ekiti West, Oye, Irepodun/Ifelodun, Ikole, Ido-Osi, Moba, Ekiti East, Ilejemeje, Ise/Orun LGAs, Ado, Gbonyin and Ijero.

The Peoples Democratic Party’s (PDP) Bisi Kolawole was announced winner in Efon Alaye LGA, while Segun Oni of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) did not win  a single LGA.

Results compilation: credit - Daily Trust


No comments:

Post a Comment