2023: Osinbajo, Tinubu, Aregbesola Meet In Lagos As Stakeholders Decide SW Presidential Flagbearer - THE DAILY CRUCIBLE



Friday, May 6, 2022

2023: Osinbajo, Tinubu, Aregbesola Meet In Lagos As Stakeholders Decide SW Presidential Flagbearer

Osinbajo, Aregbesola and Tinubu

| The Daily Crucible | Friday, May 6, 2022

All Progressives Congress (APC) Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and Minister of Interior, Rauf Aregbesola meet in Lagos ahead of the APC Southwest Stakeholders meeting at Lagos House, Marina to pick flagbearer for the South West geopolitical zone.

The meeting was initiated by Chief Bisi Akande and Aremo Olusegun Osoba.

Already Tinubu, Osinbajo, governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State, former governor Ibikunle Amosun, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Senator Borofice have all declared their presidential ambition on the platform of APC.

The meeting seeks to foster unity in the South West and prune the number of presidential aspirants in the region on the platform of APC to a manageable figure, ostensibly to enhance the chances of the zone producing the next President after President Muhammadu Buhari in 2023.

Source close to the meeting said that while they resolved that every presidential, gubernatorial and National Assembly aspirant from the zone has right to contest, the ambition must be pursued with the peace and unity of Yoruba race at heart.

Chief Bisi Akande reminded them that Yorubas are one, assuring that the region would produce the next president.

Besides, the meeting also resolved that name callings and other personal attacks should no longer be encouraged by aspirants and their supporters.

"The issue of betrayal was put to rest as the elders affirmed that everyone who desires to run for any political office whatsoever is not encumbered in any way at all. The leaders and the aspirants all agreed to conduct a rancour free campaign," the source said.

In attendance  at the meeting were the Vice President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, former Lagos State Governor Bola Ahmed Tinubu and the Ekiti State Governor Kayode Fayemi.

Also at the meeting, apart from the aspirants were the former Governor of Lagos State and Works and Housing Minister Mr. Babatunde Fashola, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Mr Femi Gbajabiamila, Chief Niyi Adebayo, Governors Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo state, Governor Dapo Abiodun of Ogun state and Governor Oyetola of Osun state. Others included former Osun State Governor and Interior Minister Rauf Aregbesola and the APC National Secretary Otunba Iyiola Omisore.

While commending the Vice President, being the highest ranking public officer from South West extraction for a job well done, inside sources disclosed that the APC elders stated categorically that all the aspirants had the right to aspire to be President.  But, they enjoined all aspirants to exhibit the ‘Omoluabi’ ethos in their politicking by shunning divisive rhetorics.

While stating that consultations with them would be a continuous exercise, the meeting admonished the aspirants to queue behind whoever amongst them that eventually emerges as the party’s candidate, stating that the cohesion of the South West must be sancrosanct.

No comments:

Post a Comment