Polls : OGSIEC Declares APC Winner In Ogun 20 LGAs - THE DAILY CRUCIBLE



Sunday, July 25, 2021

Polls : OGSIEC Declares APC Winner In Ogun 20 LGAs


By Adekunle Bosede, Abeokuta

Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission (OGSIEC) has released the results of 20 local government Areas in yesterday councils election in the State, declaring all chairmanship candidates of the All Progressives Congress(APC) winners in the 20 LGAs.

Results from the last three LGAs - Ado/Odo/Ota, Odeda and Abeokuta South  declared separately between 2:15 pm and 2:42pm today by the Commission's Chairman, Mr. Babatunde Osibodu.

Two veteran journalists and publishers - Wale Adedayo won in Ijebu East with with 9,660 votes while Babatunde Emilola - Gazal emerged winner in Ijebu - Ode having polled 6,178 votes.

Also, Odulate Olashile wins in Sagamu with 20,925 votes, Shuab Ladejobi won in Odogbolu LGA with 14,985 votes while Odusanya Bolaji won Ijebu - North with 25,701 votes.

For examples, the break down of the results for five Local Government  announced by the Commission's Chairman, Mr. Babatunde Osibodu at its headquarters in Abeokuta, indicated that Odulate Olashile of the All Progressives Congress emerged winner for Sagamu Local Government after garnering 20, 925 valid votes, while Ajayi Olaoye of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), and David Sunday of the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP) secured 930 and 359 votes respectively.

For four others as announced by Osibodu showed that, for Ijebu- East, Mr. Adewale Saliu Adedayo, also of APC, defeated his closest rival, Sanusi Sulaimon of PDP,  who secured 3,044 votes, with a total valid vote of 9,660, while Johnson Omolara of  NNPP scored zero vote and  Zacheus Adewale of the Young Progressive Party (YPP), also had zero vote.

For Ijebu North,  APC’s Odusanya Omobolaji came top with 25, 701 valid vote cast, defeating Afosi Morenikeji of NNPP and Sobowale Onabanjo, who amassed 594 and 1927 votes respectively.

Similarly, APC candidate in  Ijebu North East, Folusho Badejo, clinched 8,368 total vote cast to defeat PDP’s Odusanya Olukeke, who had 573  votes just as Odunsi Adedapo of the APC garnered 9,475 votes to defeat the PDP’s candidate,  Obatunde Hakeem, who scored 604 votes.

The OGSIEC Boss promised to announce other results as they come in.

About 12 political parties, including Labour Party, New Nigeria Peoples Party, Peoples Democratic Party, were listed as participants in the polls but a faction of PDP pulled out barely 24 hours to the election day.

The Chairman of the OGSIEC, Babatunde  Osibodu, who announced results in batches as they come, described the election as one of the most peaceful, credible and fair election in Ogun State.

No comments:

Post a Comment