Ogun LG Poll : Deputy Governor Heads APC Campaign C'ttee As PDP Vows To Resist Rigging - THE DAILY CRUCIBLE



Saturday, July 10, 2021

Ogun LG Poll : Deputy Governor Heads APC Campaign C'ttee As PDP Vows To Resist Rigging

              •Noimot Salako-Oyedele

By Ayobami Ife, Abeokuta 

The All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ogun State has constituted the State Campaign Committee with Deputy Governor Noimot Salako-Oyedele, as head of the committee. 

Over a dozen of political parties, including the main opposition party - the People's Democratic Party (PDP), are participating in the July 24, 2021 local government elections in Ogun state with PDP vowing to be on the necks of both the electoral umpire - Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission(OGSIEC) and the All Progressives Congress (APC) controlled government, ostensibly to compel them to conduct rigging - free polls. 
The State chairman of PDP, Dr. Sikirullai Ogundele, said the burden is on Babatunde Osibodu - led the OGSIEC to ensure a level playing ground for all participating political parties and their candidates,  and not play to the dictates of the pay master or the APC. 

Ogundele told The Daily Crucible that given the governance style of APC, nobody will vote for the party and its candidates in the forthcoming council polls, and expressed the confidence that PDP will capture the 20 LGAs seats and sack APC from the State on July 24.

"In Nigeria, I have been saying it that a right thinking person will not vote for APC and considering the style of governance they are running, no reasonable person should vote for them. Whoever votes for the party needed to do self - examination and weigh the decision, it is not a political party in the first place. 

"The OGSIEC must not play the script of its master, the OGSIEC chairman should convince us that the election will be fair, credible and that there will be no rigging. 

"We (of the PDP) are watching them and the people of Ogun state are also watching them. We don't expect anything credible in a contest whereby the umpire of that election was put there by a government where its ruling  party is also participating in that election. 

"It is like Chelsea and Manchester United (Man U) playing football and an opportunity is being given to Man U to pick who should officiate or be the referee for the match. 

"You know he who pays the piper dictates the tune. That is just interpretation of what Local Government elections stand for. So,  we are going to be on their necks. Ogun state people have resolved to get them out of power," Ogundele said. 

But the APC has assembled a team will help market the party, its candidates and their programmes to the people.
In a statement by the Publicity Secretary, Tunde Oladunjoye, the party named Engr. Noimot Salako-Oyedele as head of the
 State Campaign Committee (SCC).

The Committee  is charged with “overall coordination of the APC Local Government Elections Campaign and liaise  with respective Local Government Campaign Committees.”
According to the Oladunjoye, the terms of reference for the high-powered committee also include: “overall coordination of the APC Local Government  Elections Campaign activities, including but not limited to drawing up a State-wide Campaign Timetable and itinerary; liaison with respective Local Governments’ Campaign Committees; identification of projects to be commissioned by the Governor during the campaign across the twenty (20) LGAs; determination of required campaign resources and materials and support to the Local Government Campaign Committees and Candidates; preparation of campaign budget and Solicitation for Funds; and any other issue that may be required for successful campaign. 
He explained  that the SCC include some members of APC State Working Committee (SWC), Members of the  House of Representatives, some Members of Ogun State House of Assembly, Special Advisers and  Special Assistants  to the State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun. 
The team in full : 

S/No Name Position Remarks
1.  H.E. Engr (Mrs.) NoimotSalako- Oyedele Chairman  
2.  Hon. Yemi Adelani Organising Secretary, APC
3.  Hon. Afolabi Afuape Hon. Commissioner, Local Govt & Chieftaincy Affairs
4.  Hon. Tunji Akinosi  
5.  Alhaji Waheed Odusile Hon. Commissioner, Information
6.  Hon. Biyi Adeleye Special Adviser, Political
7.  Hon. Babatunde Olaotan  
8.  Hon. Funmi Efuwape Hon. Commissioner for Women Affairs
9.  Hon. Tunde Oladunjoye Publicity Secretary, APC
10.  Yetunde Adesanya  
11.  Hon. Adijat Adeleye  
12.  Hon Deji Kalejaye  
13.  Hon. Ifekayode Akinbode  
14.  Hon. Remmy Hassan  
15.  Hon Atinuke Bello  
16.  Hon. Kola Salako  
17.  Hon. Taiwo Oludotun  
18.  Hon. Tolu Bankonle  
19.  Hon. Femi Akinwunmi  
20.  Comrade Azeez Adeyemi  
21.  Comrade Olamide Lawal  
22.  Hon. Koye ijaduoye  
23.  Hon. Hadi Sani Special Assistant (Inter ethnic – Arewa)
24.  Hon. Monday Chukwudi Special Assistant (Inter ethnic – Igbo)
25.  Dr. Emmanuel Taiwo  
26.  Hon. Nike Osoba  
27.  Hon. Oyindamola Adeshina- Oyelese  
28.  Hon. Femi Ilori  
29.  Hon. Goke Awoso  
30.  Hon. Kunle Sobukonla  
31.  Rep. Adewunmi Onanuga  
32.  Rep. Kolapo K Osunsanyo  
33.  Rep. Ibrahim Isiaka  
34.  Rep. Jimoh Ojugbele  
35.  Rep. Jimoh Olaifa  
36.  Hon. Adeyemi Harrison  
37.  Bolu Owotomo  
38.  Hon. Daisi Elemide  
39.  Hon. Demola Balogun  
40.  Hon. Adeshina Popoola  

No comments:

Post a Comment