Ogun Correspondents' Chapel Passes Vote Of Confidence On Raheem-led Exco - THE DAILY CRUCIBLE



Saturday, November 14, 2020

Ogun Correspondents' Chapel Passes Vote Of Confidence On Raheem-led Exco

...Also, The Chapel Rejects and Denounces Acts Of Shenanigans By Some Elements to Cause Unnecessary Friction and Division Among Members

From Ayobami Ife, Abeokuta

Correspondents' Chapel of Ogun State Council of Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) has passed vote of confidence on the integrity and the validity of Comr. Laide Raheem-led executives of the chapel.

The vote of confidence was passed during the chapel congress, held on Thursday, at the Chapel Secretariat, Nawaruideen, Abeokuta, the state capital.

The Daily Crucible recalls that Laide Raheem, Ogun State Correspondent for The Sun newspaper defeated Rasak Ayinla of Business Day with 17 votes to 12 votes to emerge the Correspondents' Chapel Chairman in chapel election conducted on September 2, 2020.

James Ogunnaike of Vanguard, Sulaiman Fasasi of Daily Independent, Ernest Nwokolo of The Nation and Bankole Taiwo of Nigerian NewsDirect were all returned unopposed in the election as Vice Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer and Assistant Secretary respectively.

Speaking during the congress, Mr Abiodun Taiwo of the Daily Times newspaper, said that "in the midst of obvious acts of shenanigans by some  elements to cause unnecessary friction and disunity among the Chapel members with a view to discredit a validly elected leadership, it is just patriotic to remain resolute, reject this undemocratic act and further affirm the resolve of over 22 majority members of the chapel never to allow anything tamper with the election that brought in the new exco members."

Taiwo, thereafter, moved the motion for a vote of confidence to be passed on Raheem-led executives, while Mr Musiliu Aremu of Blueprint newspaper seconded the motion.

The Chairman of the chapel, Laide Raheem, who presided over the congress, however, put the motion to a vote and unanimously, all members in attendance supported the motion, describing it as no less a way to reject and resist all forms of selfish acts to destabilise the chapel.

Present at the congress were Laide Raheem, James Ogunnaike, Bankole Taiwo, Ernest Nwokolo, Abiodun Taiwo, Femi Adediran, Chief Niyi Ogungbola, Kola Olayinka, Mr Kunle Idowu, Femi Oyeweso, Musiliu Aremu, Wunmi Akintola (Baba Ajito), Johnson Onifade, Gbenga Oladipupo and Abiodun Lawal.

Other members of the chapel who were unavoidably absent from the congress with permission were Sulaiman Fasasi, Yinka Olukoya, Bunmi Mustapha, Akin Alade and Joy Akinsanya.

The Chairman thereafter thanked the chapel members for their "rock-solid" support and encouragement, assuring that the leadership of the Chapel would not betray the confidence and trust reposed in it.

No comments:

Post a Comment